Vampirella: Dead Flowers

Bleeding Cool dropped the news today about Dead Flowers, a Vampirella mini-series I co-wrote with my friend, Sara Frazetta (granddaughter of the legendary Frank Frazetta), with illustrations by Alberto Locatelli.

Needless to say, I am over the proverbial moon.

Not only that, but I got to ink over Sara’s pencils on an alternate cover for the first issue.

This was definitely a bucket list item for me.

Sara has been a friend for a few years now. We met on twitter, of all places, and we discovered pretty quickly that we worked well together. Our ideas gelled from day one and I can assure you, that’s extremely rare.

I am very proud of the work we did with Vampirella. It’s very different from the more modern take many are now familiar with. I grew up with the 70s Vampi, illustrated by those magnificent Spanish artists, like Jose Gonzalez. Sara felt the same and we crafted a Gothic Romance of sorts, filled with ghosts, witches, sorcerers, werewolves, and… well, vampires, of course.

I am excited to see what you all think. I believe the first of four issues will be released in October. The big announcement will be at San Diego Comic Con on Friday night.

Leave a comment