The Thing on the Roof by Robert E. Howard

Occultober rolls on. As part of this year’s celebration, I decided to read aloud a story of John Kirowan, one of my favorite occult detectives and written by my favorite author.

Originally published in Weird Tales Magazine Vol XIX No 2 in February, 1932, Robert E. Howard’s “The Thing on the Roof” is a shuddery tale of an old, legend-haunted tomb in Honduras, and the doom that pursued the man who opened it.

Hastily narrated, and with little editing, any errors are my own. I am not accustomed to reading for a stretch like this, so my voice becomes slurred at times. Such is the slow and steady creep of age, I presume.

Still, it’s a fun story, steeped in Lovecraft’s legendarium. And I had an odd thought… what if a certain Dr. Jones had followed up on Tussman’s expedition. Indiana Jones and the Temple of the Toad?

2 Responses to “The Thing on the Roof by Robert E. Howard”

  1. This is a fun little story, the exploration of the tomb and creepy ending with the guy getting his skull crushed. Robert E Howard know how to write visceral horror

  2. He sure did. I’m looking forward to reading all of his John Kirowan fiction throughout this year’s spooky season.

Leave a comment