My review of Understanding #AleisterCrowley’s Thoth Tarot by @Lonmiloduquette

lonthoth

I purchased Aleister Crowley and Lady Frieda Harris’ Thoth Tarot, and Crowley’s Book of Thoth, in 1986 from a small occult bookstore in Muncie, Indiana. I was just a hair past 20 years old at the time.

I had lived with Pixie’s Rider-Waite deck since junior high school. Embracing the Thoth deck felt like a graduation of sorts, and it was in many ways.

Our small off-campus house on Martin Street was something of a meeting place for esoteric-leaning and like-minded acquaintances.

We abused various illicit substances indiscriminately and pulled at the threads of the very fabric of the universe. Crowley was a hot topic, of course. He was and is a rite of passage for most occultists.

Admittedly, Crowley’s writing, while genius, can be somewhat labyrinthine, especially when chemical dependency is a point of fact. But devour it we did, and I was particularly devoted to the Thoth deck. While Pixie’s cards still held court in my readings for clients, in private, it was the Thoth to which I turned in those years.

By the gods, it was a challenge, and many aspects were debated, sometimes quite fervently, among our little clique of would-be magi. It was (and is) a difficult and intoxicatingly complex work, true of both the cards and Crowley’s guidebook.

crowleyThe struggle was so very satisfying, however, and I cherish those long nights poring over the deck, multiple references on hand, as I worked my way through it all.

That being said, I would have killed to have had access to Lon Milo DuQuette’s seminal work on the subject — Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot.

Lon has a unique voice, writing in an effortless and often humorous and self-depreciating manner. His style is very relaxed and conversational without losing any of its authoritative stature. That goes a long way, believe me.

I stumbled upon this book in early 2004, I think, and at the time, worried that it gave away too much, that it removed much of the challenge implicit in the study of the deck and magick in general. But as I’ve grown older, I have softened on this view. Granted, I don’t think esoteric knowledge should be spoon-fed to the masses, but Lon is an erudite instructor, and an invaluable resource.

If you already own the book, as I did, this volume is well worth picking up. It seems cleaner than my original copy, far fewer typographical errors and such, plus the new introduction is worth the price of admission alone.

This really is a perfect companion to Crowley. Lon pulls back the veil, shedding light on the intricate symbolism Crowley and Harris infused within the artwork of this Tarot. It was true when I read the book thirteen years ago. It’s even more true today.

I will state it categorically — There has been no better resource written regarding the Thoth, to be sure. It really doesn’t get more definitive than this. If you are new to the Thoth deck, this book is the perfect compliment to Crowley’s own words on the subject.

Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot by Lon Milo DuQuette is hot off the presses and available directly from the publisher with but the click of a few buttons. You might also track it down in your local brick and mortar, assuming there’s one in your zip code, or through various and sundry online retail outlets.

Leave a comment