The Occult Detective’s #LastWrites with… Alethea Kontis

last-writes

ALETHEA KONTIS

Welcome to the third installment of LAST WRITES.

The premise is simple. My guests face their final rest, but before Death claims them they are granted a few earthly pleasures, the memories of which will travel with them into the great unknown.

aletheaToday’s guest is Alethea Kontis, a princess, author, fairy godmother, and geek. Author of over fifteen books and contributor to over twenty-five more, her award-winning writing has been published for multiple age groups across all genres, including science fiction, fantasy, horror, humor, contemporary romance, poetry, graphic novels, Twitter serials, and non-fiction.

A former child actress, Alethea hosted over 55 episodes of “Princess Alethea’s Fairy Tale Rants” on YouTube, and continues to host Princess Alethea’s Traveling Sideshow every year at Dragon Con.

She enjoys audiobook and podcast narration, speaking at middle schools across the country (in costume, of course), and one day hopes to make a few more movies with her friends. Alethea currently resides on the Space Coast of Florida with her teddy bear, Charlie.

LAST MEAL

Mom’s moussaka (she only makes it for Christmas because it’s so much work)

LAST BOOK

William Goldman’s The Princess Bride (Illustrated Edition). Not just because it’s my favorite book of all time, but also because if I’ve been given a death sentence, the book’s theme is particularly fitting. At my first BEA as an author I met the guy that created this gorgeous illustrated version. We really hit it off. Probably because we had so much in common.

LAST MOVIE

Blood Oath. Not the movie you were expecting, was it? Me neither. But once upon a time, my friends and I went out into the world and created art, come what may, completely without abandon. To me, Blood Oath represents years and dreams and friendships and memories…and fun.

LAST SONG

“Takin’ Off” by the Adam Ezra Group. Hard to believe that at one time I was merely a fan of this band. Our paths have crossed so many times, in so many extraordinary ways, that Adam, Corinna, Josh, Turtle, Francis and Alex have become like family to me. And because Adam has yet to write a song about me, I choose “Takin’ Off,” the song Adam dedicated to me at midnight, on my birthday, during the worst year of my life.

FIRST PERSON YOU’D LIKE TO MEET ON THE OTHER SIDE

My Memere (grandmother), Madeleine DeRonde. (My middle name is “Madeleine,” did you know?) Because Alzheimer’s stole her from us long before Death did. She’d get a kick out of the fact that Casey teaches my eulogy to her college classes. And then we’d sing Louis Armstrong and Rosemary Clooney and make homemade strawberry daiquiris in her house on the mountain.

havenkansasYou can learn even more about Alethea via her Amazon Author Page and if you like what you see there you might comnsider supporting her on Patreon.

Her latest work, Haven, Kansas, is available in hardcover, paperback, and ebook (Kindle, Nook, Kobo)

2 Responses to “The Occult Detective’s #LastWrites with… Alethea Kontis”

Leave a comment