177A Bleecker Street

Is there a cooler place in comics than Doctor Strange’s Sanctum Sanctorum? Yeah, I didn’t think so. Located in the Marvel Universe at 177A Bleecker Street in Greenwich Village, New York, it is a three story brownstone said to have been built on the site of ancient pagan sacrifices and is thus a temporal vortex for supernatural energies.

drsss

As you can imagine, I was (and am) a huge Doctor Strange fan. To be honest though, I’ve always been more impressed with the idea than the vast majority of the stories written about the Sorcerer Supreme. Unfortunately, the number of comic writers who have understood what to do with the character are few and far between.

I think a lot of that comes from the shared universe aspect of Marvel. I always sort of wished that Strange and other supernatural characters sort of operated in their own little bubble, outside of the convoluted mess that is the Marvel Universe.

drsss2

Still, it should comes as no surprise that, as a fan since I was about eight years old, one of the first things I did when we hit the bricks of New York City, way back in 1984 (my one and only trip to the Big Apple) was to track down Doctor Strange’s pad. I’ve no pics to share, unfortunately. I’m sure there are some locked away in an old trunk in my parent’s attic or something. But I did track the place down on Google Maps.

strange bleeker

Obviously, no Sanctum Sanctorum.

Or, is it possible, that the businesses there in the Village are but an illusion created by the powerful sorceries at Stephen Strange’s command?

You live in your Candyland. I’ll live in mine.

One Response to “177A Bleecker Street”

  1. Definitely an illusion.

Leave a Reply

