R.I.P. Sammy Terry

sammyterry

Robert Carter aka Sammy Terry
1929-2013

Sammy Terry was my introduction into the world of horror. With his ghoulish make-up and sinister cackle, he, and his ever-present sidekick George the spider, hosted Nightmare Theater throughout my formative years on WTTV 4. And he scared the living crap right out of me… but in a good way. With macabre humor, Robert Carter owned the mantle of Sammy Terry and thrilled and chilled my generation from the early sixties until mid-eighties. If he was on, I was parked in front of the tv watching him… usually from behind my dad’s recliner.

Godspeed and farewell, Sammy Terry. I am pretty damn sure that I wouldn’t be the man I am today if it weren’t for you. You were an unbelievably important part of my childhood and I am sad to see you go, but your legend is secure.

One Response to “R.I.P. Sammy Terry”

  1. Amen to your comments. He was a real hoot.

Leave a comment