Archive for July 12, 2017

Imperfections of Sleep (Part 5 of 6)

Posted in Occult Detectives, Writing in Theory & Practice with tags , , , , , on July 12, 2017 by Occult Detective

ios5

Imperfections of Sleep
(Part 5 of 6)

“You’re mad,” Landon Connors said, pacing on the roadway, a stream of smoke rising slowly into the mid-morning sky from the cigarette in his lips. He looked toward his mentor, Sam Hill, who was consuming a smoke of his own and working to loose those muscles that had been magically bound several minutes before. “She’s a construct, or a demon meant to lead us astray.”

“Nope,” Hill replied. “I’d know it.”

“I know it sounds crazy,” the woman in the circle said, “but believe me, Dr. Connors, reality is far more malleable than you realize.”

“She’s right about that,” Hill agreed. He removed a fresh cigarette from the pack in his breast pocket and lit it off the butt of the other before grinding it under his heel.

“My name is Cassidy Martin and I have traveled through space, time, and dimension to ensure that you and Mr. Hill do not interfere with not only what happens this night, but in what is going to happen a few months from now.

“If you rescue me, that is, nine year old me, then everything changes…again. The threads of our reality are perilously thin as it is, and I’m the only one who knows what happened now, because when what happens later..happens, then all this goes away… it doesn’t happen, not like this anyway.”

“Do I need to explain temporal paradoxes and causal loops to you?” Connors, taking a cue from Sam, lit another cigarette. “Retrocausality?” He approached the circle, feeling nauseous the nearer he came. He staggered momentarily, stepped backward and nearly retched onto the pavement.

“That’s because I’m out of synch with this reality,” she said. “Do you understand? It’s why I can’t step outside of this circle. I don’t exist here, can’t exist here. I’m from another… universe or whatever. In a few months, this reality will be erased, writ over by a new one created by Michael Somers.”

“Who the hell is Michael Somers?” Connors snapped.

“”He’s the Lord of Cairnwood Manor, or will be, but then won’t be…” She sat down on the pavement. “It’s so damn confusing.”

“Ya think?” Connors said. He limped over to stand next to Hill, joining him in leaning on the hood of the private investigator’s Caprice. “Sam, help me out here.”

“I wish I could, kiddo,” Hill replied, “but the fact of the matter is, I believe her. At the very least, I believe she believes it, and I’ve got a nose for these things.”

“So, we’re supposed to just let all this happen, just let a vampire run roughshod across our backyard, then, and this is the kicker, then sit back while our reality gets shredded and rewritten?” Connors spat on the ground. “You don’t know me, know us, very well, Ms. Martin.”

“But I do, Dr. Connors,” she said, rising to her feet. “You will save my life, trust me. Just not tonight, nor in this timeline.”

“God damn it,” Connors hissed. “Fine, say you win. Then what are me and Sam supposed to do? Huh? Do you have an answer for that?”

“No,” Cassidy replied. “I wish I did.” She placed her hand over her heart. “But if it were me, I would find someone I loved without question and hold them until the end, because your eyes will open after the fire, but what they’ll see will be altogether different.” She turned away from them, her head hung low. “You just won’t know it, no one will. No one but me.”

“And what if I don’t have someone?” Connors said. He stepped toward her, leaning even heavier on his cane.

“You do,” Cassidy replied.

Sam  put his hand on Connors’ shoulder. “The little lady is right, kid.”

“Look, my time is up,” she said, turning back to them. They could see the tears glistening on her cheeks. “The spell’s wearing off.”

“So that’s it then,” Connors said. “No last parting words of wisdom from the future?”

“No,” Cassidy replied as she began to fade away. “Just… tell Michelle I said I miss her…”

And with that, Cassidy Martin was gone.

to be continued

