My thoughts on @PsypressUK’s Getting Higher by Julian Vayne

Getting_Higher

In many ways, this is the book I’d always planned to write. Unlike most of my peers, drugs were never a recreational pastime for me. They were a tool for self-discovery, of religious and spiritual awakening. I was on a shaman’s journey, tapping into the multiverse through psychedelics and ritual magick.

In my late teens through mid-twenties, I experimented, predominately,  with LSD, various strains of marijuana, and Psilocybin, but also periodically with morning glory seeds, damiana, kava, woodrose, and the like. My experiences with DMT, MDMA, mescaline, and salvia were far rarer.

With a select group of friends, I would embark on vision quests, guided regressions, astral projections, and various ritualistic exercises all in an attempt to achieve a higher state of being, to expand my consciousness and become one with the universe.

We enhanced our explorations of self by utilizing trance, mediation, sensory deprivation tanks, hermetic rites, drum circles and more in direct synthesis with entheogens, but always with a singular intent: a union between ourselves and the divine.

I had quite a number of successes and more than a few failures. The price was high, but on a spiritual level, I felt that I had touched the sky and that feeling has never faded. It’s not a path for everyone, to be sure, but it’s an honest journey.

Exploring oneself through altered states of perception is not for the faint of heart. Truth uncovered through such a journey can be a double-edged sword.

In Getting Higher: The Manual of Psychedelic Ceremony, Julian Vayne takes us on just such a journey, blazing a trail whose roots are intertwined with the counter culture and shamanistic practices. While I wish Vayne embraced more European influences, Getting Higher is a really solid production, full of wit, wisdom, and whimsy.

Getting Higher is really about maximizing your experiences, giving the reader a multitude of ways to express themselves via enhanced mental states. I consider this essential reading for those new to the way of the psychonaut.

Beyond the outstanding explorations, the book is also a beautiful work of art. The cover is straight out Haight-Ashbury-esque and the interior is decorated with illustrations that put me in mind of the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers.

I loved this book, from stem to stern, and it really took me back to a time when I was preoccupied with who I was, who I wanted to be, and how I was connected to something bigger, something cosmic. It was an important journey and I wish I would have had Getting Higher to help guide me through it.

Getting Higher: The Manual of Psychedelic Ceremony by Julian Vayne is available online via the publisher, Psychedelic Press, or wherever books are sold. Do yourself a favor. Expand your consciousness. Buy this book.

Leave a Reply

