Archive for May 5, 2017

Rex Quondam, Rexque Futurus

Posted in Archive on May 5, 2017 by Occult Detective

A bittersweet remembrance.

occultdetective.com

terry as arthurBack in March I posted about the love affair Brent and I had with John Boorman’s Excalibur. This past weekend came the news that Nigel Terry, King Arthur himself, passed away at the age of 69 due to complications from emphysema. We were, Brent and I, huge fans of Terry’s work, not only of his turn as Arthur, but his roles in movies such as The Lion in Winter, or the criminally underrated television series Covington Cross as well. But, it was Terry’s Arthur that drew us in.

Brent had an affinity for Arthurian Legend, perhaps surpassing even my own. It was Brent who turned me on to Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon and Paxson’s Hallowed Isle series. I returned the favor by leading him to Stewart’s Merlin series, as well as Gil Kane and John Jakes’ take on Excalibur.

I remember vividly when he returned from his first trip…

View original post 450 more words

