If I had a Hammer…

In 1985, my best friend, Brent Smith, and I went to Indianapolis for a Gun & Knife Show. A dealer there, a local Silversmith, had an impressive display of handcrafted jewelry, a couple of Norse Hammers among them. I talked to him about commissioning a Mjolnir necklace. He agreed and I took his card. A week later I mailed off a photocopy of a Hammer found near Romersdal, on the island of Bornholm.

bob

In 1986, Brent and I returned to the Gun & Knife Show and the dealer had my necklace. He charged me less than $200 for the silver work and even incorporated an ouroboros Jormundgandr  as the ring.

I’ve been wearing this necklace for just over thirty years now. If the gods are willing I will wear it for 30 or 40 more.

It is a symbol of my faith, of my reverence for my cultural heritage. It represents protection, strength, and power.

It is NOT a symbol of white supremacy, racism, or hate, as so many SJWs would have you believe. I have no room in my heart for intolerance of any stripe.

The Thunder God wields Mjolnir as a protector of all the people of Midgard.

While I revere my Northern European ancestors, particularly the Norse, Celts, Anglo Saxons, and Germanic tribes, it is not at the exclusion of other cultures.

We all share the same rock.

I will raise a horn to you and yours and ask that you do the same for me and mine.

Skál!

.:.

What I’m writing:  Catching up on some Nightstalkers/C.O.D.A. case files.

What I’m reading: Robert E. Howard’s Conan RPG Corebook by Modiphius

What I’m studying: The Book of Lies by Aleister Crowley

What I’m drawing: Encounter maps.

What I’m watching: Deep Space Nine and Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.

Music I’m listening to: Listening to classic Heart via Youtube; Badlands and Led Zeppelin during my commute.

Podcasts I’m listening to: Gordon White’s Rune Soup, Gamerstable, The Horror Show with Brian Keene, Buttercup of Doom with Kelli Owen

What I’m playing: Dungeons & Dragons 5E (live & on roll20), Star Trek RPG, Skyrim

What I’m anticipating: Kim’s Birthday, the Walkway of FrLights, Christmas, and Blessed Yuletide

What I’m obsessing over: Old Ghosts and Haunts

What’s next on The Occult Detective: The Occult Detective’s Last Writes with… Maurice Broaddus

.:.

Leave a Reply

