I’ve Seen Paupers as Kings

I ruled all of the earth
Witnessed my birth
Cried at the sight of a man
And still I don’t know who I am
—Emerson, Lake

.:.

Death has stalked the music industry in 2016 with an unparalleled viciousness. This year alone we have lost David Bowie, Glenn Frey, Jimmy Bain, Paul Kantner, Maurice White, Vanity, Lennie Baker, George Martin, Keith Emerson, Steve Young, Merle Haggard, Prince, Lonnie Mack, Ralph Stanley, Scotty Moore, Glenn Yarbrough, Bobby Vee,  Leonard Cohen, Leon Russell, and now Greg Lake.

lakeGreg Lake was a brilliant musician with an intoxicating voice. His work with King Crimson and Emerson Lake & Palmer were a huge influence on me in my late teens and early twenties.

ELP in particular was on heavy rotation with my mates in the summer of ’85. We camped a lot then and tunes like From the Beginning or Still could be heard drifting out over the trees, rising up from our campfire as we celebrated our youth and sought to find our place in the grand scheme of things.

Greg Lake was one of the songwriters who helped shape the soundtrack of my coming of age. He will be sorely missed, but his music is forever and his legacy will live on…

.:.

What I’m writing:  Working on a new round robin tale with The Occult Legion.

What I’m reading: The Magician by W. Somerset Maugham

What I’m studying: The English Magic Tarot by Van Ryn, Letcher, and Dooley.

What I’m drawing: Working on two things for Backburner Press and an interactive map for roll20.

What I’m watching: Timeless and Deep Space Nine with the family, plus Critical Role and Talks Machina via Geek & Sundry.

Music I’m listening to: Emerson Lake & Palmer, King Crimson, Led Zeppelin (always)

Podcasts I’m listening to: Gordon White’s Rune Soup, The Horror Show with Brian Keene, Gamerstable

What I’m playing: Skyrim SE, Dungeons & Dragons 5E (live & on roll20)

What I’m anticipating: Christmas with the family, Yule with the gods

What I’m obsessing over: Worldbuilding a new campaign.

What’s next on The Occult Detective: The Occult Detective’s Last Writes with… Michael M Hughes

Leave a Reply

