Not Enough Hours in the Day

Winter is coming… Oh, it’s not here yet. Relax. We’re still solidly in Autumn. Sort of. The weather has been unseasonably warm, high 60s-low 70s and I’m over it. Rain today and high winds, with plummeting mercury overnight —a 30° shift. That’s enough to send shivers down even my spine.

wintery

Next week’s Thanksgiving and despite a Trump White House looming ahead, I have a lot to be thankful for. This time of year is always my most creative season, I love Autumn and Winter and wish they could be my year round clime… They seem to be so fleeting.

I have a lot of plans, many irons in the fire as they say, and there’s so much more I want to add. Is this what getting older is all about? A mad rush to accomplish things, sensing that time is growing short.

Knowing this life is not the end is of little comfort.

I’d best move along before I begin to wax philosophically, or more likely, metaphysically. So, friends, let’s be off to the what I’m up to list —

What I’m writing: a Landon Connors story set in Marion, Indiana (think Dennis Lehane by way of Dennis Wheatley) that I’ll shop around when the time comes, though it has a guaranteed home as a part of Afterbirth (Book IV of the Liber Monstrorum Chronicles); continuing work on  OCCULT DETECTIVE: The Roleplaying Game.

What I’m doing: Weekend plans include getting my den back in order, cutting up a felled limb (or two) and building a bonfire, playing Skyrim and/or Munchkin tonight with Conn & Kasey, Roll20 with the Oak Hill Dungeons & Dragons Club on Saturday, and D&D with the Next Gen Club come Sunday.

Plenty of the magically delicious going on behind the scenes as well, paranormally and esoterically speaking. I would say more, but some mysteries are best left in the shadows.

What I’m reading: I’ve added Secret Knowledge, edited by J Douglas Kenyon to the list, otherwise I’m still engaged with The Secret History of Twin Peaks by Mark Frost, Robert E. Howard’s Conan RPG Core Book by Modiphius, and, with the Water Street Book Club, The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. Also having a look at the comics Ravine (suggested by Taliesin Jaffe), The Mummy, and Spirit Hunters.

What I’m watching: Westworld is simply amazing and I’m becoming somewhat obsessed with the underlying mystery, something I may have to blog about in the near future. I am also quite enamoured by Timeless, another intricately woven mystery series. It’s true, I guess, that I have a type. Both are scratching my LOST itch.

I am still totally on board with Lucifer, slightly less so with The Flash and Arrow, and my interest is waning on Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow, and Once Upon a Time. Oddly enough, MacGyver has been a lot of fun. All of these (except for Westworld which I watch alone) are family-viewing.

We have just begun watching Season Two of Deep Space Nine as a part of our nightly reexamination of all things Star Trek.

What I’m listening to: Musically, I’m loving Wardruna’s Runaljod – Ragnarok and I’ve been fumbling about youtube listening to a lot of Fleetwood Mac, Buckingham Nicks, Jefferson Airplane/Starship, and Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young.

Gordon White’s Rune Soup and The Horror Show with Brian Keene and Dave Thomas continue to hold my interest.

What I’m anticipating: Vikings‘ return to History Channel, right? Bloody Game of Thrones seems forever away, as does Winds of Winter. I mean, winter really is coming, and I’m looking forward to that. And the Conan Board Game… Oh yes. Conan. Lots of Conan on the horizon.

I’m hoping we’ll see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them early next week.  I am also eagerly awaiting Star Wars: Rogue One, Arrival, Passengers, Wonder Woman, Logan, Ghost in the Shell, and Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets.

What I’m obsessing over: Still crazy about all things Doctor Strange.

What’s next on The Occult Detective: This coming Monday you’ll be treated to The Occult Detective’s Last Writes with… Joshua Reynolds

Leave a Reply

