The Power of Hallowe’en

I have a lot to do today, but I wanted to share something. Oddy enough, an article about Brian Wilson of Beach Boys fame led me to thinking about the records I used to spin as a child. While I initially reminisced about the aforementioned Beach Boys, Jan & Dean, The Beatles, The Ventures, Jackson 5, and The Monkees (all in heavy rotation, along with various K-Tel Records), there was a collection of record albums that I played more than anything else, especially at bedtime.

Power Records.

drac

I had a ton of them: Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, Batman, Spider-Man, Conan, Frankenstein, Man-Thing, Curse of the Werewolf, and so many more…

 

My favorite might have been this one though. Just listening to it now takes me back to my bedroom in our old trailer. It had no heat, and my little brother and I would place a fan at the end of my bed, on full blast in winter, and hide under thick blankets while this played…

 

 

Nothing invokes the season better than a vintage “spooky sounds” record, crackles, pops, and all.

Leave a Reply

