Solomon Unsealed

bobtoberishI have been transported back in time this morning. Strange how it occurred, the temporal shift in thought patterns. It started, I suppose, when I stepped out into the pre-dawn morn, an autumnal chill in the air, and the gentle but stinging mist of rain falling.

I said to my wife, who watched from the door as I made my way to the jeep, that it felt like Scotland, and it did. It truly did.

Settling into work, I passed the time with Weiser Books’ re-release of The Key of Solomon the King which in turn furthered my time shift as I reflected on the first time I’d got my hands on the book.

It was 1984, roughly this time of year, perhaps a bit later into October but not yet Hallowe’en, to be sure. I was a college freshman attending Ball State University seeking a degree in Anthropology with a special focus on Witchcraft, Magic, and Religion and Ancient Studies. I was given permission to examine both Clavicula Salomonis and The Book of the Sacred Magic of Abra-Melin the Mage which were part of the  Alexander M. Bracken Library Special Collections.

As you can imagine, this was a major turning point for me, magically and spiritually. Up to that time, I was limited in what actual esoteric texts I could get hold of. Most were tied to  the influx of ‘witchcraft’ books that were everywhere in the 70s. My personal collection was thin. A 1940s-era tract, Unseen Forces by Manly Palmer Hall, that I’d cherished since acquiring it in 1974, was the crowning jewel of my assemblage.

So, it’s understandable that revisiting The Key of Solomon would have a furthering effect on me. My head’s felt changed all morning and that led me to the music of Ann Briggs, Fairport Convention, and Pentangle.

Music and Magick have always walked hand in hand for me, especially that which skews toward traditional melodies from the motherlands of Britain.

It’s a magically delicious rabbit hole I’ve stumbled down… and ’tis the season for it.

Expect a review of The Key of Solomon the King: A Magical Grimoire of Sigils and Rituals for Summoning and Mastering Spirits, translated by Samuel Liddell MacGregor Mathers, with a Foreword by Joseph H. Peterson, by early next week.

Leave a Reply

