Somewhere in ancient mystic trinity (#ThreeAlbums)

Another “three things” is trending on social media, “Three Albums That Describe You”.

Music’s always been a big part of my life, but narrowing down three albums in an attempt to describe a person is a near impossible task. Three songs? That makes more sense and is far less of a struggle. But that’s not the challenge.

My top choice is Led Zeppelin’s Physical Graffiti.

physical-graffiti

Released in February of 1975, Zeppelin’s first double-album is a stirring and moving work.

It is a masterpiece of contrasting genres and styles. A surreal mix of light and heavy tracks, the band delivers rock, country, blues, and psychedelic music as only they can.

I’ve always found it very spiritual and thought-provoking, with numerous facets that reflects the differing aspects of the bands personality and I find them mirroring my own in so many ways.

For me, this is as good as music gets.

.:.

wardruna-runaljod-yggdrasil-cdThe next album on my list is Wardruna’s Yggdrasil, released in 2013.

Warduna is a band that touches my primordial soul. With deep, magical roots, Wardruna invokes the ancient mysteries, playing traditional Norse music with one eye on the past and the other on the future.

Einar Selvik’s music is transcendent and his voice, married with Gaahl and the majestic Lindy Fay Hella, ascends to the heavens and becomes a force of nature.

These are the rhythms of the heart and soul, that call back to our ancient forefathers, that poured out from the skalds of old.

This is the music of my ancestors and is as much a part of me as the blood in my veins.

.:.

Choosing a final selection has not been easy. As I said earlier, choosing three songs would be far easier. When choosing an album, all the tracks have to be considered. Can you find yourself within them, or at least in most? Earlier, I posted (then deleted) three choices and included Black Sabbath’s Born again, but after consideration I realized it was mainly for a single track and that plays against the theme of this challenge.

So what is my third choice then? Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk.

tuskA double album that dropped in 1979, Tusk was considered a failed experiment. Costing over a million dollars with only four million sales, critics and the public were polarized, but I loved it from day one.

Deeply personal and moving, Tusk echoed Rumours’ emotional content, but Lindsey Buckingham did some amazing work in the studio to craft an album that was very different in sound and texture.

Was it a risk? Most definitely, but now, nearly forty years later, its genius is recognized.

I’ve chosen Tusk as much for its emotional baggage as its creative innovation and bold defiance of convention. Never play it safe. Take risks. Be true to yourself and your vision.

Sounds about right to me.

So there you go, three albums that define me.

 

Leave a Reply

