Three. It’s a magic number.

I am not generally a big fan of memes, hashtags, and trends, but I have to admit I was thoroughly enamored with the idea behind #threefictional characters. I only wish more people took it seriously.

It seems to me, you can learn learn a lot about a person based on their honest choices.

I did give mine a lot of thought and though a writer didn’t make the cut, they being the products of writers’ imaginations have to count for something.

3characters

My choices began with Supernatural’s Bobby Singer, a bearded hillbilly curmudgeon with a talent for ghostbreaking and demon slaying. Yeah, he hits a wee bit close to home. Add in the fact that he is (or was) Sam & Dean’s surrogate father and I think you can see why Bobby Singer was a good fit. Hell, we even share the same first name.

John Locke was a no-brainer for Team Bob. Locke was a Man of Faith, as LOST so frequently hammered home. He was also damaged. For all his philosophical leanings, there was a part of him, deep down, that was lost (no pun intended) and afraid. We all have those moments, to be sure, and Locke, particularly in those early episodes really spoke to me. “Don’t tell me what I can’t do”? Indeed.

Rounding out the trifecta was difficult. Choosing another Occult Detective was obvious and I considered many, but in the end, it was the tv version of Harry Dresden who made the cut. I always found Paul Blackthorne’s portrayal more appealing than what was found on the page. Harry is a sympathetic guy, often down-on-his-luck, but with a big heart and an uncanny knack for magic. The fact that he pals around with a skull named Bob doesn’t hurt matters. Magic being a big part of my life, Dresden ticks that box for me quite nicely in ways that John Constantine no longer can. I’ve grown up a bit… but not too much.

So, yeah. I enjoyed that quite a bit and I’d like to think that you can see a bit of me in all of them, and vice versa…

Leave a Reply

