Must be the Season of the Witch

Rolling Stone Magazine debuted on November 9, 1967 and featured an interview by John Carpenter with Donovan.

He said, of magic, “it’s in the blood of my race…The magic that you hear in tales and things was all based around the Celtic mythology of England… I just drain from that source. I just drain everything. So the magic is there. We are magic. It is magic that we’re walking around. It’s fantastic magic. Some people would call it miracles; I like to call it magic. …the more I can understand how big it is, how big it will get. It’ll be harder to comprehend; that’s why I have to go along with it, ’cause its so vast. To say to somebody that God is everything that lives and ever has lived and ever will live, and you’re never going to touch and see, smell and be everything that is God. Magic is very hard to comprehend.

vivien-and-merlin

There’s a truth in his words and I feel it, especially as this time of year rolls around. There’s a magic inside all of us, and each race and culture has their own unique spin on it.

It all taps into the same source, give or take, but it’s the individual flavor that gives it that little something special that tends to speak to all of us in different ways.

Much like Donovan, my roots lie in Northern Europe, from Scandinavia and the British Isles. I have a deep fascination and appreciation for magic in all its various guises, but it is the magic of my ancestors, my kindred folk, that sets my soul afire.

As Samhain approaches I am cognizant of those who came before me and I feel connected through the bones of the earth and the astral winds that blow up from the distant past.

But magic is alive. It is about more than just yesterday. It is about today and tomorrow as well.

.:.

Leave a Reply

