Deadlines & Indecisions

Hey there. It’s been awhile. No, I haven’t forgotten you. Time has been of short supply, for the most part. So what have I been up to?

Yes, I’m still tweaking First Born, a Descendant prequel, collecting a slew of related short stories featuring Landon Connors, Wolfe & Crowe, the Parker Brothers, and more.

But Bob, you say, wasn’t that supposed to be sent off to your editor a few months ago?

Why, yes, my friends, it was.

I could offer a parade of excuses but it really boils down to two things: spreading myself thin and, more importantly, indecision.

Decisiveness has never been a shortcoming of mine, but for some reason, First Born‘s contents have been giving me fits. I just excised 30,000 words from the manuscript, but a huge part of me wants to shovel them back in (after an extensive re-write).

I really need a week (or month) of no distractions, but that’s just not going to happen.connorspanelODI2

As I get older, and let’s be honest, as my health declines, I’m finding it harder and harder to get quality words down. I have always been and will always be a storyteller. I am thankful that my son, my friends and his, have afforded me an outlet for spinning yarns at the gaming table… It more than scratches the itch.

But trust me, true believers, I’m buckling down. I’ve some artwork to wrap up for Belfire Press, some reviews to put to bed, and magic to weave, but ever-present in my mind is First Born.

Giving birth is a painful process. I’m told your First Born is the worst…

Leave a Reply

