The Spirit of Radio

“The sounds I am listening to every night at first appear to be human voices conversing back and forth in a language I cannot understand. I find it difficult to imagine that I am actually hearing real voices from people not of this planet. There must be a more simple explanation that has so far eluded me.” – Nikola Tesla 1918

I don’t reckon I need another project, but building a Tesla “Spirit Radio” is on my radar.

So what’s the deal with this simple crystal radio?

A lot of folks are building these things and putting them to work. I’m curious to have a go myself… I have some of my own ideas. Obviously, these are a poor man’s “spirit box” which I think is kind of bunk, but there is a way to capture ambient electronic voice phenomena without all the hokum.

This is a good place to start, but I want to hook it up to a guitar amp and see what shakes.

Leave a Reply

