Crisis Management

I have to tip my hat to Stephen Zimmer and Seventh Star Press. I’ve been working with them for a couple of years now and it never ceases to amaze me how quick Stephen is to respond when difficulties arise.

cairnwood series

Shadows Over Somerset was published without a hitch, but Keepers of the Dead was fraught with difficulties. None of them on Seventh Star’s end, mind you.

I ran into some issues with my  first editor. He had done a wonderful job on Shadows, but with Keepers he kept missing deadlines, so Stephen stepped in and made a switch.

I can’t praise Scott Sandridge enough. His edits on Keepers were terrific and I greatly appreciated working with him and look forward to our continued partnership.

Unfortunately, there was a mix-up on my end with the Keepers of the Dead manuscript, not once, but twice when delivered to Scott and Seventh Star. Not either of their faults. All mine. I made assumptions and, because we had been so far off schedule, I was less diligent than I should have been.

Both snafus were discovered by my good friend Greg Mitchell (months apart, I should add) and for that I am truly grateful.

Both errors were quickly addressed by Stephen.

And now, it appears the stars are aligned and a crisis has been averted.

One of the two errors, the most recent one, had disastrous ramifications for the books currently in the pipeline. Had Greg not found that error today and contacted me, I would have been completely gutted…

I guess it just goes to show, when writing of dark forces, it’s nice to know there are forces of light there to have your back.

Leave a Reply

