Fifty-two

Robert Brent Smith, my lifelong friend and partner in crime, died 52 Tuesdays ago today.

typemarkTomorrow will be the one year anniversary, but counting Tuesdays always made more sense to me. It’s been a year of them, each one a steely knife.

Tuesday, January 27 was like a dark storm rolling over me. I can still hear his mom’s voice telling me he was gone. It’s as firmly etched into my brain as his and my final words to one another. They walk hand in hand.

I would say that I miss him, but that wouldn’t be the truth, because even though he passed away a calendar full of Tuesdays ago, he’s always been right here with me…

…and he always will.

Leave a Reply

