Scary Stories

bobtober15

Three days out from All Hallow’s Eve and I’m looking for something to read. I finished Peter Straub’s A Dark Matter and Algernon Blackwood’s Incredible Adventures. I was considering Seven Gothic Tales by Isak Dinesen but it turns out my copy is missing, presumably loaned out and forgotten. I lose far too many books that way.

So, I’ve given thought to James, Poe, Hawthorne, Crowley, and Machen, but I think I’m in the mood for something more modern in style and something new to me, but by someone I admire, someone with a gift for evocative language, something with an occult mystery needing to be solved…

I will come to a decision tonight, I suppose, but I hate that lull between books, especially when you’re hungry for words.

skull bookHallowe’en means so many things to so many people — costumes, candy, scary movies, pranks, jump scares, graveyards and ghost hunts, seances, and what have you… Me? It’s always been first and foremost about stories.

It’s one of the reasons that I am so enamored with Neil Gaiman’s All Hallow’s Read.

I love ghost stories around a campfire and books read under the covers. I love haunted poetry and illustrated children’s books. I love horror comics and spooky short stories, occult novels and (w)rites of magick.

Oh, I love all the other stuff too: the decorations and masquerade, the trick-or-treat and all those bumps-in-the-night, the tv specials and cinematic frights.

But words… words haunt me in ways that nothing else can.

Hallowe’en is almost here… time to find the right words to ring it in with, but, perhaps more importantly, it’s time to share a scary story with someone else…

It truly is the gift that keeps on giving.

Leave a Reply

