Dead Letters (#writingintheoryandpractice)

On August 24, 1456, Johannes Gutenberg completed the task of printing the Holy Writ, the first major work to have been done so through the use of movable type. It revolutionized the printing industry, obviously. The guy who gets overlooked in the process all too often is the proofreader. Now there’s an unsung hero if ever there was one.

I hate it, personally. To be honest, I even hate looking over the edits someone else has done on my work. It’s a tedious, but necessary, part of the process.

Some people dig it.

They’re the ones I don’t wholly trust, but I do recognize the need for such demented types.

kotdavI bring this up because I am currently poring over edits on my second Cairnwood Manor novel, Keepers of the Dead. Scott Sandridge has done a thorough job of making Keepers a better book. My job, at this point, is pretty much just agreeing with his proof edits. So far, so good. Except for one little thing — I prefer leapt over leaped and I don’t know why… but I do.

That’s my one sticking point… and by the gods, I will defend it unto my dying breath.

Or not.

The thing about typos and proofs and all that rot is, I do so hate to admit that I’m capable of mistakes. Looking over this thing, I see I’m more than capable… I’m damn near a professional at it.

And with that, I bid you adieu as I dive back into misplaced commas, dropped words, and run-on sentences.

Leave a Reply

