My review of The Witch’s Guide to Wands by Gypsey Elaine Teague

wand

I’ve had a lifelong fascination with wands, staves, and walking sticks. Having grown up in the midst of a small ash woods and a short walk to an even large woodland, I never lacked for any of that hallowed trinity.

While the majority of the wands that I’ve been attached to have been of the “found” variety, I’ve also turned a few, on the Eastern Woodland Carvers Club lathe, with some valuable assistance from my father and the late Chuck Leming.

I’ve fond memories of those turnings, a few winters back now, when Brent and I were crafting Ollivander-styled wands as Christmas presents for our kids.

We took it quite serious, and I’m happy to say, that same sort of seriousness is found in Gypsey Elaine Teague’s new book,  The Witch’s Guide to Wands: A Complete Botanical, Magical, and Elemental Guide to Making, Choosing, and Using the Right Wand.

If, like me, you have any sort of interest in wands and the crafting of them, I believe you’ll be delighted by this book. One of the things I’ve always appreciated about Teague’s writings is her whimsy and embrace of pop culture.

Look, no book on wands would be complete without addressing Jo Rowling’s magical universe, and Teague does so with style.

More importantly, however, The Witch’s Guide to Wands is a pretty inclusive text and of particular interest is the section on Organic Wands which is authoritative and insightful. With personal anecdotes strung throughout, the narrative is elevated from a dry, scholarly work to a more intimate examination of the materials and the mindset behind them.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t add that Weiser Books’ design team did a fantastic job on this one, as well. Good, bright paper stock goes a long way with me, but the font choices and graphic design really sold the book, especially the illustrations which elevated the work tremendously.

I really enjoyed the time I spent with The Witch’s Guide to Wands and expect I will revisit it often as an invaluable resource. As such, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The Witch’s Guide to Wands: A Complete Botanical, Magical, and Elemental Guide to Making, Choosing, and Using the Right Wand by Gypsey Elaine Teague is available wherever books are sold. You can order directly from the publisher by clicking, well, HERE ;)

Leave a Reply

