A few thoughts on Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

gotbanner

Season 5 Episode 6

“Unbowed, Unbent, & Unbroken”
or “Un-bronn-ed Melody”

.:.

.:.

First off, let me acknowledge Bronn’s marvelous singing voice, or should I say Jerome Flynn’s. Why Jaime saw fit to cut off his traveling companion’s song is beyond me. It was the only thing bloody tolerable about Dorne. The Sand-Snakes are bad, from the acting to their costumes to their (lack of believable) weapon training. And I mean like, C-Movie bad.

I do believe Bronn’s days are numbered. The Martells, at least those spawned from Oberyn’s loins, are fond of poison. Hopefully he’ll go out with a song on his lips.

.:.

Far more tolerable was our return to King’s Landing. Littlefinger’s Machiavellian Mustache-twirling  is in fine form as we get a better glimpse into his long con. Of course it’s the Faith Militant and the “Trial” of Loras (and arrest of Queen Margaery) that takes center stage here.

I could watch an entire hour of Diana Rigg and Lena Heady going at each other, their “tart” scene was delicious.

.:.

Jorah and Tyrion being snapped up by Mr. Eco and the Lost Boys was a fun little diversion, chock full of equal parts bravado and dwarf cock jokes. Two bits stand out: Tyrion delivering the news of the death of Jorah’s father and Jorah recounting his victory in single combat against a Dothraki Bloodrider.

.:.

Of course my favorite scenes of the night all belonged to Arya and Jaqen. As with the books, it’s Arya’s tale that is the most moving. While watching, I turned to my wife and said, “Of everyone, Arya is the only one I need to have a happy ending.” To which she replied, “Well, she’s not going to get it.”

I suspect my wife is correct. She usually is. But still, I hold out hope, fully expecting that hope to be dashed by a shape-shifting Arya with no memory of her former life as she becomes a faceless assassin sworn solely to the God of Death.

There are worse fates.

.:.

Speaking of which, there was another wedding on Game of Thrones. You know what that means…

Let’s see, there was the Red Wedding which saw Robb, his mother, his pregnant wife, and his freaking dog all slaughtered.

There was the Purple Wedding, in which Joffrey was gloriously transitioned into whatever constitutes an eternal damnation in Westeros.

“I’m Sansa Stark of Winterfell. This is my
home and you can’t frighten me.”

— Sansa Stark (soon to be Bolton)

And now we’ve had, what? The White Wedding? No, that doesn’t seem right, but there has to be a color to it. Maybe Off-White?

sansawedding1

It was a lovely affair, really… I mean, despite the guest list and the groom and his family and Theon giving her away and all… but the setting was lovely and her dress was to die for. And, after the vows were shared, I’m pretty sure Sansa wanted to. Die I mean.

First thing this morning, my twitter feed was lit up with foul cries and tears and teeth gnashing.

How could they do that to Sansa???

Do these people know what show they’re watching? Have they not read the books?

Trust me, Sansa’s Wedding could have ended a whole lot worse had they hewed closer to Jeyne’s storyline. George R.R. Martin unleashed some unbelievable cruelty down upon poor old faux-Arya/Jeyne Poole, whose wedding night with Ramsey (and Theon and the dogs) was nothing short of monstrous.

Not to belittle the rape of Sansa Stark. It was horrific and not easy to watch. My heart broke for her. But she is a Stark and she can and will overcome this, and, I believe, she will get her revenge.

Game of Thrones is a hard show, brutal and unforgiving. So are the novels on which it is based.

Being a voyeur into the World of Ice and Fire is not for the weak and squeamish.

If anything deserved a “Trigger Warning”, it’s this…

One Response to “A few thoughts on Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken”

  1. You hit it dead on…….

Leave a Reply

