My thoughts on Diana L. Paxson’s Essential Guide to Possession, Depossession, & Divine Relationships

paxson possessionFor something akin to thirty years, I have been enthralled by the writings of Diana Paxson. I was first introduced to her through my dear friend and co-conspirator, Brent Smith, gods rest his soul. He had stumbled upon Lady of Light, the first novel in Paxson’s Westria series, and begged me to read it. That must have been the Summer before our Senior Year of High School, I think. Ever since, I have found Ms. Paxson’s voice to be one I could trust, especially once I discovered our mutual fascination with pagan spirituality and Heathenism in particular.

Her most recent work, The Essential Guide to Possession, Depossession, & Divine Relationships is a perfect example of why I consider her one of our most important writers in the field.

Paxson is noted for her breadth of knowledge and practical insights into oracular traditions, and this erudition shines through on every page of Possession.

Trance Possession is not for the faint of heart. In this book, however, Paxson is able to lift the veil from these sacred practices, presenting a real, workable study, with easy to follow guidelines and exercises that strips away the anxiety and allows the practitioner to become a vehicle for unseen spirits, safely and effectively.

As a paranormal investigator, the practical application of these techniques offer a world of possibilities and I can personally attest to their being a tremendous tool in my investigative arsenal.

The Essential Guide to Possession, Depossession, & Divine Relationships has a lot going for it, and it’s a book I wholeheartedly recommend. The only negatives for me were the cover design ( those muted pastels are never a good idea) and the page count.

Wait, page count? Yep, the book clocks it at under 300 pages and you can tell the author has a lot more to say on the subject. My guess is, the publisher had a strict word count in place.

Still, you’re getting plenty of bang for your buck. I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed by what they find within these pages.

Diana L. Paxson’s The Essential Guide to Possession, Depossession, & Divine Relationships is available wherever books are sold, but if, like me, you live miles from the nearest bookstore, you can order direct from the publisher and have it delivered right to your door (or post office box).

2 Responses to “My thoughts on Diana L. Paxson’s Essential Guide to Possession, Depossession, & Divine Relationships”

  1. I’m expecting to like this one, too. I passed it to Lilith to read first, for obvious reasons.

    What’s that? Oh, my ilu just reminded me that the lack of possessory practice is not his fault. Right-o then.

    • It’s a terrific work book, Freeman. There should be more introductory books in this style for people taking their first tentative steps into spirituality.

Leave a Reply

