Rúnatal

runeroad

Rúnatal

Nine long nights I hung
wounded on wind-swept
Yggdrasil,
pierced by my own spear,
pledged and offered to Odin,
Allfather,
myself to myself
E’en the wisest know not from
whence spring the roots of that
ancient tree…

No bread did I eat.
No mead did I drink.
With a great roar
did I look into the deep,
down into the abyss,
I took up the runes
and from Ygg I fell.

Nine lays of power
was I taught at Bolthor’s feet
And from his mead horn
Odrerir I did drink.

Wisdom did I find there,
and from it did I thrive.
I was led from a word to a word.
I was led from a deed to a deed.

horns

Leave a Reply

