History Vikings: Breaking Point?

vikings banner

Has History Channel finally crossed the line? Have they committed an unforgivable sin?

My day started with an inbox aflame with Heathen voices, furious over last night’s episode of Vikings, in which King Ragnar seemingly offers to send his horde away in exchange for 5,000 pounds of gold and one more little thing — he wanted to be baptized by the Parisian Cleric so that when he dies he can reunite with Athelstan in Heaven.

vikings-309

I, myself, fired off a couple of angry tweets to History Channel:

Shame on you, @HistoryVikings. I don’t expect 100% accuracy, it is legend, after all, but to disrespect & dishonour Ragnar in such a way?

Hey, @HistoryVikings — Now there’s a Ragnar I can respect:

Then I got to thinking. Michael Hirst likes to pull the old switcheroo with his season finales. Remember when some people thought Floki was betraying Ragnar last season, but stabbed King Horik in the back instead?

So, I wonder, is Hirst going to instead honor Ragnar’s promise to do what his allies so far could not, breach the walls of Paris by appropriating a similar ruse perpetuated by one Björn Ironside?

From wikipedia:

…Björn found himself unable to breach the town walls. To gain entry, he sent messengers to the bishop to say that he had died, had a deathbed conversion, and wished to be buried on consecrated ground within their church. He was brought into the chapel with a small honor guard, then amazed the dismayed Italian clerics by leaping from his coffin and hacking his way to the town gates, which he promptly opened, letting his army in.

I guess we’ll have to tune in for next week’s season finale to find out.

3 Responses to “History Vikings: Breaking Point?”

  1. I so hope you have cracked the code. We’ll see. I have half a mind not to watch the next ep until the Chorus of Heathen Voices says it’s OK, though.

  2. […] Last week, I predicted what was to come in the Vikings finale. I have been reading the Eddas and Sagas since I was nine years old. It was an easy leap to make, especially if you factor in Michael Hirst’s track record. Here’s what I wrote: […]

Leave a Reply

