My Thoughts on Graham Hancock’s The Divine Spark

In the summer of 1985, I embarked on my first, true psychonautic journey. It was a mind-opening experience, introducing me to new and exciting ways to interact with “reality” and ripping the away the veil between my understanding of the very fabric of the multiverse.

I had no teachers, no gurus to help light the way, not in any real sense, but there were books. There were always books…Important in my development were works such as Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson; The Psychedelic Reader by Leary, Metzner and Weil; Intoxication: Life in Pursuit of Artificial Paradise by Ronald Seigel; and Food of the Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge — A Radical History of Plants, Drugs, and Human Evolution by Terence McKenna, to name but a few that stand out.

I was never a “party guy”. For me, the “drug experience” was a spiritual thing. I always approached psychotropic drugs as a catalyst for exploring not only myself, but also as a means of embracing divinity.

divine sparkWhen asked to review The Divine Spark: A Graham Hancock Reader: Psychedelics, Consciousness, and the Birth of Civilization, I was more than thrilled to have the opportunity.

While it’s been a number of years since my last psychedelic journey, I have never stopped considering myself a psychonaut. The idea of expanding one’s consciousness, of delving into the inner workings of the mind, and dissecting what makes us tick has always struck me as being secondary only to making real inter- and intra-personal connections.

Graham Hancock has compiled a thought-provoking and compelling collection of essays by some of the leading voices in the field — Mike Alivernia ▪ Russell Brand ▪ David Jay Brown ▪ Paul Devereux ▪ Rick Doblin ▪ Ede Frecska ▪ Alex Grey ▪ Nassim Haramein ▪ Martina Hoffmann ▪ Don Lattin ▪ Luis Eduardo Luna ▪ Dennis McKenna ▪ Thad McKraken ▪ Rak Razam ▪ Gabriel Roberts ▪ Thomas B. Roberts ▪ Gregory Sams ▪ Robert Schoch ▪ Mark Seelig ▪ Rick Strassman ▪ Robert Tindall and, of course, Hancock himself.

Despite being only 320 pages, The Divine Spark is a dense read. I suspect you won’t agree with every voice, but as a chorus, it is an inspiring and illuminating reading experience.

The simple truth is this, the government calls it a War on Drugs, but it’s really a War on Consciousness. It’s about control. How can a government, particularly one that claims to watch over the “land of the free”, criminalize the consumption of things that exist in nature?

Mankind has sought out these psychotropic plants and fungi, since before we discovered the secret of fire, as a means to commune with the sacred and divine.

What possible justification could a government have for denying so-called “free citizens” the right to explore their own consciousness?

I cannot recommend The Divine Spark: A Graham Hancock Reader: Psychedelics, Consciousness, and the Birth of Civilization highly enough.

The Divine Spark is published by Disinformation and distributed by Red Wheel/Weiser. It is available wherever books are sold.

Leave a Reply

