Hinc illae lacrimae

brent

One of my oldest and dearest friends passed away yesterday.

I met Brent Smith 43 years ago, give or take. We took a shine to one another right from the get go. We played ball together, traded comic books, slung dice, chased girls, and raised more than a little bit of hell when all was said and done.

We shared a mutual passion for music and books… and, to be honest, particularly in our college days, we did our level best to shake the pillars of heaven. Boys will be boys, and we played hard, let me tell you. But by the gods, we had fun.

He and I were like brothers. Inseparable, really. We honest to goodness loved each other like only people who have lived on the edge of it can.

We reached for the stars and weaved magic by moonlight.

Brent Smith was a special human being. He had a perpetual twinkle in his eye and a big heart and I loved him dearly. And I am going to miss him with every fiber of my being.

Godspeed, Smitty. I love you, brother.

4 Responses to “Hinc illae lacrimae”

  1. Beautiful sentiment, Bob. I’ve been thinking a lot about him, you, our friends and Brent’s family. To me, at his core, Brent was a charmer; seemed like he was always full of life and loved living it. To wherever it took him. You could see it in the way he carried himself and interacted with us. I have really enjoyed getting to know him again over the last couple of years. Things won’t be the same.

    Steve

  2. Bob & Barb Smith Says:

    Love to each of you who knew and continued to entertain and be entertained by our son, Brent Smith. He really enjoyed you guys’ fellowship.

Leave a Reply

