The Misadventures of Crowley & Squirrel

spn

“BLACK”
S10E01

written by Jeremy Carver
directed by Robert Singer

There have been few bright spots since the Season Five finale. What was once one of my favorite shows on television was becoming painful to watch. Oddly enough, as my interest diminished, the ratings began to increase. Personally, I think this is more indicative of the strength of those early seasons, as new viewers were brought into the fold via syndication.

Still, every season, I hope for redemption… for Supernatural to right its course and become what it once was. Did “Black”, the Season 10 premiere, show such promise? Yes and no.

Mark Sheppard’s Crowley is a scene-stealing bastard. When he’s on screen, Supernatural sings with wit and humour, but with an underlying menace. This remains true in “Black” and Jensen Ackles’ Demon Dean mirrors Crowley’s charm quite nicely.

Sam on the other hand, through no fault of Jared Padaleki, is just too much angst. A common misstep with the character, in my opinion. And don’t get me started on the angel storyline… It really is time to lay it to rest, or at least infuse it with some old school medieval ritual magick. You know, hew a little closer to the bone. Rein it in. Make the cosmology mysterious, elusive.

I’ll continue to watch for now, but unfortunately I haven’t seen anything yet to make me think they’re on the right track.

I hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

