Occultober

…And I cried- “It was surely October
On this very night of last year
That I journeyed- I journeyed down here-
That I brought a dread burden down here-
On this night of all nights in the year,
Ah, what demon has tempted me here?…
— Edgar Allan Poe, “Ulalume”

1batoccultdetectiveWe welcome once more October’s return and all the magickal promise that entails. As green gives way to the rich colours of autumn, we marvel at the beauty of death’s approach. ‘Tis the season of transformation and believe me, some things are going to change around here…

For starters, I’m going to refocus the content of this site. I want to be more accessible and I want occultdetective.com to be more representative of the things I am passionate about. Of course, that means a greater focus on occult detectives in general, and the annual Occult Detective Awards will reflect this also.

You can also expect more reviews, more recaps, and more soap boxing, more investigative reports from the trenches of my paranormal adventures, more pulpiteering about the publishing industry, more discourse about writing in general, more vociferation about the art and practice of tabletop gaming, more artistic showcasing, and more bloody haranguing about magick and mysteries and the hammer of the gods.

And there will be fire.

And there will be brimstone.

And there will be death, in all its transformative glory.

It’s October. Change and magick are in the air.

Let the nightmare begin…

Leave a Reply

