The Wounded King

fisherking-highercalling

“However funny it is, however outrageous it is,
is based on pain, on a tragedy, on loss.”
β€” Terry Gilliam, speaking of The Fisher King

Robin Williams is dead.

He took his own life at the age of 63.

I will not pretend to understand depression, though, like most, I’ve experienced it and have, on occasion, battled it fiercely.

I am reminded, as I contemplate the life and death of this comic genius, that the first movie my wife and I ever saw together was a Robin Williams film… Patch Adams. Williams, for all his chaotic behavior, had a way of bringing people together. He was like a jam band guitarist, fumbling around, playing crazy note after crazy note, until he struck that magic chord, had that impossible run, and, in that moment, touched greatness and shared it with the world.

My favorite Robin Williams film is The Fisher King. Sure, it’s a mess. I recognize that. But there’s a truth in it, hidden in the often rambling narrative. “How can you find that which my brightest and bravest could not?” And the fool replied, “I don’t know. I only knew that you were thirsty.” Robin Williams was thirsty. Hell, a lot of us are thirsty. But you can lead a horse to water, but sometimes the Red Knight guards the drink.

Godspeed, Robin Williams. And thanks for the memories. You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

