Pay to Play

I’ve been chasing spirits for almost as long as I’ve drawn breath. It’s more than a hobby for me. It’s been a near lifelong passion.

There was a time when I was the only ghostfinder on the block, then in the mid-2000s all these “paranormal research groups” started springing up in my neck of the woods. They were (and are) bloody legion, all inspired by that Syfy Beast “Ghost Hunters”.

Inspired? More like doppleganger. All dressed up in their team colors, with the same toys they saw on tv. And rarely an original thought to be found among the lot of them.

Now, they bounce from site to site, paying their bits of silver to haunt the same locations over and over, the same that’s been shadowed by every other group in a hundred mile radius. And for what? To uncover the secrets of the afterlife? To unlock the mysteries of the hereafter?

No. More often than not, they are pretend scientists caught up in their inter-party dramas and psycho-dance of social gathering.

It’s become such a bother.

Once, I found myself on call, to investigate the occult goings on across the greater part of the Hoosier State. Now, there are a hundred groups pretending to do the same and paying for the privilege to do it. Needless to say, my phone doesn’t ring as often as it once did, except to hear from other groups curious for my thoughts on this or that.

I am, in a very real sense, an occult detective. I do not pay to explore some haunted place. Why should I? I go where I’m needed.

See, I’m not out to prove anything. I’m not seeking “scientific proof” of this or that. Why? Because I know.

And I keep that knowledge close to the vest.

So, go on then. Pay to play.

The real work is going on in here.

Leave a Reply

