Godspeed Mary Stewart

marystewartI am sad to report that one of my favorite novelists growing up, Mary Stewart, passed away on May 10th.

She was 97.

I discovered The Crystal Cave in 1976. It was a hardcover, languishing in the bottom of a box of rummage sale items my grandparents had picked up. Always looking for something to read, a novel based ’round Merlin and Arthurian legend was right up my alley and I was captivated by the story Mary Stewart told.

I quickly followed it up with The Hollow Hills, then found myself waiting for her to complete the series, which she did with 1979’s The Last Enchantment and 1983’s The Wicked Day.

I simply adored her voice, and despite her “romance novel” leanings, I read a fair amount of her other works, including The Moon-Spinners, The Ivy Tree, and This Rough Magic.

Another favorite of mine was a children’s novel she wrote in 1980 called A Walk in Wolf Wood: A Tale of Fantasy and Magic.

Godspeed, Mary Stewart. You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

