First Look: Constantine

constantinebanner

Watch a preview:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdAZwMRvGuc

Watch the trailer:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5mQ5nqyw3M

CONSTANTINE

How ’bout that? Bloody terrific, no? Earlier I’d posted the news of NBC giving a series order for the adaptation of DC Comics’ Hellblazer, John Constantine. I believe the words I used were ‘cautiously optimistic’. Well, they’ve gone and screwed that all up. I’m now somewhat over the moon based on that trailer.

What’s right about it? Let’s get the obvious out of the way. He looks right. He sounds right (well, he’s got a bit more of a Welsh accent, but close enough). The tone is right. The effects are right. Has anything screamed “occult detective” better than this? If I didn’t know better, I’d say these cats have been peeking in on my friend Will Wright’s Credo the Series and The Ritual short.

Okay, so it takes place in New York, ala CBS’ modern-day Holmes series. But why pick at nits?

This is some edgy stuff and Matt Ryan is nailing Constantine. The only thing not making it perfect is the lack of a fag hanging from his lips in every shot.

Look, I know we haven’t seen the pilot yet, but based on the above, I dare say, I’ve a new favorite series looming. It looks that damned good.

Colour me shocked… and pleasantly so.

Leave a Reply

