Make Mine Mars

vmarsIt’s true, I’m a Veronica Mars fan, a “marshmallow”, if you will. In the interest of full-disclosure, I was not a fan from the start. I dipped my toes in the waters when Veronica Mars debuted back in 2004 but it didn’t strike my fancy at the time. In 2005, it had the misfortune of going up against LOST, so you can see, it had a tough row to hoe in the Freeman house.

I really discovered Veronica via hulu, watching on the advice of a friend. Veronica Mars, and the rich and diverse characters that populated the fictional town of Neptune, drew me in, especially once I was able to immerse myself through a three day binge fest. Kristen Bell’s Veronica Mars struck me as a modern day take on Nancy Drew. I found her charmingly snarky, confident, resourceful, and full of spunk… and she was the sharpest pencil in whatever box she found herself in.

I was hooked and kept up with the show until its demise in 2007 (after a third season that, while entertaining, was off its game due to network shenanigans). I have since revisited the complete series multiple times.

And now, Veronica Mars has returned as a movie through a successful kickstarter campaign, seven years after it went off the air… and for me, it was well worth the wait.

As a fan, I can’t speak to how well the film plays to non-fans. The movie was, essentially, an episode of the series writ large. And that’s exactly what I was hoping for. It was true, from beginning to end, to its roots. In that it was successful. Will that success lend itself to more Veronica Mars in the future? I certainly hope so.

Leave a Reply

