A quick thought on “branding”

Amongst writers there’s a lot of talk about branding oneself, but at the same time playing it safe so as not to alienate portions of your audience. I just don’t see how you can have it both ways, nor do I see much sense in it, to be honest.

The reality is this — you are who you are, warts and all.

My advice? Be yourself. At all times. In person. Online. Wherever. Whenever.

If this alienates people, then so be it.

Don’t put on a front. Life’s too short for that. And if it runs people off, if it chases away readers… well, them’s the breaks, kid.

Do not adopt a persona. Don’t fret over how you’re perceived.

And sales? That’s a fool’s game anyway.

Promote the real you and let the cards fall where they may.

You’ll be a helluva lot happier for it.

3 Responses to “A quick thought on “branding””

  1. Wise words, Bob. I’ve often wondered whether I’d be more popular if I wrote more instantly marketable work instead of what i was interested in at the time – but where would the fun be in that :-)

  2. Let’s see, if you write what sells, and not what you are passionate about, then you may well be a hack.

    I used to try to leave off the warts and rough edges in my public persona. Then, I realized that the warts and rough edges were the interesting part.

Leave a Reply

