As Above, So Below

I was somewhat premature on my declaration of “NO WINNER” for the Weirder Tales: Incantation Contest. Seems that Iris Walker did indeed slip a winning entry past the esoteric goalie netting her a talisman designed by Freeman Presson and myself. Congratulations, Iris. Use it wisely.

And speaking of my friend Freeman Presson, he sent me an email this weekend with an intriguing idea for an illustration. I won’t go into the details, but he titled it a New Old Idea, or was that an Old New Idea? Anyway, long story short, I thought I’d sketch around on this idea for a bit and the following illustration, while bearing no resemblance to his description, fell out of my pencil, and was then subsequently inked and photoshopped.

freemanpressonsm
Freeman Presson

Sorcerer Supreme

And now, dear publisher,  you know why I’m falling behind on my deadlines ;)

3 Responses to “As Above, So Below”

  1. While it’s true that this depicts only the “front end” of my idea, it surely does capture that. “Now, class, you will need all your focus to remain standing after the contact hits…”

  2. Everyone at my Study Group had a fierce chuckle over this. Iris was there long enough to get her prize, so that mischief is managed.

Leave a Reply

