We survived GENCON

genconnor

So… this happened.

GENCON was everything we thought it would be and a whole lot more. Kim, Connor, and I had a blast. Really, I had expected to write a full recap of our trip, but it was all just so… mind-numbing… I’m still trying to process it all. Suffice to say, gaming is alive and well and it felt good to be amongst so many, if not like-minded, then assuredly similarly-minded people of all ages, shapes, and sizes.

One odd occurrence that I feel compelled to share came by way of a booth set up to promote Cthulhu Wars. Cthulhu Wars is a simply gorgeous board game developed by Call of Cthulhu’s Sandy Petersen. The Old Ones’ sculpts are some of the finest artistic renditions as I’ve ever seen. As I ogled the display, one of the working attendants turned and looked at me, a wave of shock passing over him. See, he had mistaken me for Sandy himself. I only wished I’d parlayed that into walking out of there with the game. After a brief, awkward exchange, he eyed my Con Badge and recognized my name. We laughed over his initial confusion and I enjoyed his “pitch” as he explained the ends and outs of what I’m sure will be a spectacular game. Of course, at $169 it won’t grace my game shelf any time soon, but a boy can dream.

We did snag a few goodies. Conn was the big winner, what with adding a well-crafted foam sword to his growing arsenal of faux-weapons, pocketing several goblin minis, and scoring a hard to find Deadpool action figure. We also purchased the Confrontation: Age of Ragnarok starter set, a Reaper Ranger mini, a deck of Conan Munchkin cards, two Magic the Gathering bricks, a Chinese Magic Swamp mana, and a few other odds and ends.

All in all, we had a great time in Indy. It was short, but sweet. Yes, this was our first trip to GENCON. It will most assuredly not be our last.

I should probably start saving my money now.

Leave a Reply

