Indiana Horror Writers

wit&p

I resigned from Indiana Horror Writers today. It’s not something I wanted to do, necessarily, but felt I had to do. It’s been a long time coming.

I was there in IHW’s infancy, one of its founding fathers in a sense. I felt an immediate connection with Tracy DeVore, Michael West, Sara Larson, and Maurice Broaddus. They quickly became more than friends. They were (and are) family. As more members joined our troupe — Jerry Gordon, Michelle Pendergrass, and Natalie Phillips, to name a few — that family became even stronger. Oh sure, we were there to support each other as storytellers and craftsmen, but more than that, we leaned on one another, through good times and bad. The love was genuine. We all had a voice. We all mattered.

IHW08

As IHW expanded its roster, as a whole, it began to feel less like a family. There were personality conflicts. There was infighting, bickering, and cliques were formed. The core relationships remained, but IHW as an organization was suffering.

Then Sara passed away.

A couple of unfortunate events took place recently within the group, the last of which being the straw that broke the proverbial camel’s back for me. I won’t go into the details, but suffice to say that those original feelings I felt for that core group of members, my family, are still as strong as ever. To see them marginalized or disrespected in any way just doesn’t sit well with me.

Resigning from IHW was a hard decision, but in the end, it’s just a group that I am no longer a member of. The relationships I built within that group still remain. Tracy, Mike, Maurice, Jerry, Michelle, Natalie and Sara, gods rest her soul, are still family and I love them. Nothing will ever change that.

Walking away may have been hard, but remaining in IHW as it has become would have been much harder.

Leave a Reply

