47 is the Quintessential Random Number

Another year older. That’s right, it’s my birthday. Today I turn 47. And you know what, in my heart of hearts I still don’t feel a day over twenty-five. In fact, most of the time I feel (and probably act) much younger. I’m looking forward to getting off work and joining my family for a little celebration. There will be cake of some sort (gluten and dairy free, of course). There will be presents. Now I’ve actually already received a couple of gifts. Connor gave me the Pathfinder Bestiary Box a few weeks back, principally because he was overanxious to play with the pawns himself and believe me, we’ve had a ball with them. The second early present came from my wife.

<insert obligatory drumroll>

It looks like I’m going to be a father again.

Yep, you read that right. My beautiful wife is with child. The latest addition to Clan Freeman is slated for a November arrival. Not exactly the gift I was expecting for this, my 47th year, but I couldn’t be happier. Oh sure, I’ll be 65 by the time this one graduates high school, and it won’t be easy (especially if it ends up being a girl), but nothing worth while ever is.

I’m thrilled that Connor gets to be a big brother, and so is he. And I sort of like the fact that they’ll be ten years apart. It means that Kim and I won’t have to shoulder this alone. As Connor grows and becomes more experienced he can be there for his younger sibling and be a real partner in its development. This is one lucky baby, if you ask me. It’s being born into a very loving family and is a more than welcome addition.

I’ve always felt the gods’ smile upon me. I’m feeling those smiles even more today.

15 Responses to “47 is the Quintessential Random Number”

  1. Wow, that’s amazing! Congratulations! My little brother and I are 9 years apart and it made for a very good relationship :)

  2. Congratulations Bob, Kim and Connor! That is fantastic news … you know, if Kim is a little early, October 11th makes a great birthday.

  3. Ha! Congratulations, Dad! And I was 56 when Erik was born. I’m planning to survive it somehow.

  4. Wow Bob, that is an awesome gift – congratulations to you & Kim & Connor!

    He’s going to be such a great big brother, I bet he’s super excited… :)

  5. That’s wonderful news. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

