This Week’s Comics? Thank the Gods for Courtney Crumrin

thrills&chills

Man, what a depressing week.

From DC
Justice League Dark #17

From Marvel
Journey Into Mystery #649

From Oni Press
Courtney Crumrin #s 9 & 10

crumrin

Yep. Four books this week. Three titles

Journey Into Mystery is a pretty decent book, though this issue was a bit lackluster for me. I’m not digging the whole “Superior Spider-Man” thing, so I just couldn’t muster up any excitement for this book. It ended with a bit of a jaw-dropper though, so we’ll see what shakes in the next issue.

Justice League Dark is beautifully illustrated, but what a trainwreck from the writing side of the table. I am dangerously close to dropping this one. John Constantine deserves better, especially now that he’s shuffled off the Vertigo stage.

That leaves us with one of my favorite books, Ted Naifeh’s Courtney Crumrin. I love love love this comic. Packed full of action, Naifeh’s artwork is a joy to watch and the way the story has unfolded (part Harry Potter, part Spiderwick Chronicles) has kept me on the edge of my seat. Is it for everyone? Probably not. But it should be. There are some nasty twists throughout and it really fits in nicely with what Oni Press has got going on. There aren’t many books that I eagerly await. This is one of them.

Leave a Reply

