Nachash

magickmonday

Another Monday upon us and I am caught thinking of February. We’re eleven days in and outside my door forty mile per hour winds howl and moan. It feels more like the first days of spring than the last days of winter. That’s not such a bad thing. There are some things quite precious to me, that I await with bated breath. One of these are the storms of Ostara. They can’t be far off now. Soon, the sky will turn black and the heavens will crackle with thunder and lightning, sending shivers down the spines of the weak of heart. I can feel it in my bones. They’re coming, and I’ll be out there in it, watching the battle between gods and giants in the clouds o’erhead.

Next week I should have a new book review for you. I’m reading Scott Alan Roberts’ The Secret History of the Reptilians: The Pervasive Presence of the Serpent in Human History, Religion, and Alien Mythos. My expectations were not high when I received this one in the mail from the publisher, New Page Books. I didn’t ask for it, that’s for sure, but New Page has a tendency to just drop things on me out of the blue. I kind of enjoy that aspect of it. Gives me a chance to read some things I normally wouldn’t touch with a ten-foot wizard staff. I was fully prepared to make light of the work, expecting my review to be tongue-in-cheek and somewhat scathing, but I’ve actually been enjoying it quite a bit. It’s well researched, well written, and despite my general dismissive attitude to the whole ridiculous Reptilian rigamarole, Roberts’ approach is level headed and entertaining. More next week once I stick a fork in this one.

This week is a busy one for me. I’ve a ton of work lined up — one project in particular (for Backburner Press) entails me helping to design a tract, illustrate the cover page, and translate a large section of the Gospel of Luke into Hebrew. A daunting task, but one that I’ve been well paid for in the form of a 1781 Psalter in Scots Gaelic. A true treasure. Sure, it’s a bit rough around the edges, but considering its age…

Anyway, it’s time to get to work.

Leave a Reply

