If you write it, they will come…

writinginth&pr

If you write it, they will come… or not.

This is the blog I’d planned on writing last week before Brian Keene went and broke the Internet. Then, Nate Southard got into the act, and well, before you knew it, everyone was losing their damn minds.

I’ve been writing pretty much my whole life in one form or another. It’s what I’ve always known I would do. I wasn’t sure exactly what form it would take, but at an early age I recognized I had a gift for it. I suppose writing comics was where I always thought I’d end up, but I toyed around with songwriting and poetry, Gonzo-styled Paranormal Journalism, and this and that and the other thing. It was always about putting words on paper, expressing myself by spinning yarns.

I eventually sat down and wrote an honest to goodness novel, a sort of Midwestern Gothic Werewolf epic called Shadows Over Somerset. That was in 2001. It got shopped around and dismissed before I finally found it a home with Karen Koehler’s Black Death Books. I made a lot of mistakes along the way, but I was convinced that I would shed the daily grind of working paycheck to paycheck and be supporting myself and my family as a full-time writer in no time at all.

I was wrong.

I’ve published three novels and a bunch of short stories in the past twelve years or so. They have all been well received. Not a one of them have brought me anything that closely resembles financial gain. Not individually. Not collectively.

And you know what? It just doesn’t matter.

I like my day job well enough. The pay’s not great, but it has some pretty nice perks. And I still get to do what I love — tell stories.

Sure, it’s a struggle. But anything worth doing generally is.

I don’t write for anyone but me these days. I don’t chase trends. I don’t fret over sales or track where I’m ranked on Amazon. I just write my stories, and whether they’re read by a hundred people, a thousand, or more, it doesn’t matter.

What does matter is that I keep pushing myself to be better. That I write the stories I want to write.

To me, that’s what a successful writer is. Someone who writes what he damn well wants to write, to hell with the rest of it.

So, in a nutshell, that’s my advise to any of you who are aspiring writers. Write for yourself. Be true to yourself. And have some freaking fun while you’re doing it.

If you write it, they will come… or not.

Either way, you wrote it. No one can ever take that away from you.

That is your success, typing The End.

If you’re chasing money, then you’re missing the point.

2 Responses to “If you write it, they will come…”

  1. Wise words, Boib. Keep the faith and we’ll see each other in Valhalla yet.

Leave a Reply

