I Should Know Better, But Here Ya Go — My Favorite Novels

I imagine that most readers have a running list of their favorite novels bouncing around inside their heads. The criteria for determining one’s list is altogether esoteric and impossibly personal in every way. Beyond the technical precision of the writing itself, each work that makes the individual’s cut lands there for a myriad of reasons — mostly due to some inexplicable emotional resonance, with outside factors of almost equal import to the actual stories themselves.

Well, for what it’s worth, these are my thirteen favorite novels. Each hit me like thunder when I first read them and they still manage to stir something inside me like a distant echo from the past whenever I revisit them (and believe me, I do). I’d recommend each and every one, fully expecting that some of them you might not care for in the slightest. That’s why this is my list and not your yours.

13
The Devil Rides Out
by Dennis Wheatley
(1934)

12
Moonchild
by Aleister Crowley
(1917)

11
Spectre
by Robert Weverka
(1977)

10
The Lord of the Flies
by William Golding
(1954)

9
The Haunting of Hill House
by Shirley Jackson
(1959)

8
The Witching Hour
by Anne Rice
(1990)

7
The Stand
by Stephen King
(1978)

6
Shadowland
by Peter Straub
(1980)

5
American Gods
by Neil Gaiman
(2001)

4
The Hour of the Dragon
(aka Conan the Conqueror)
by Robert E. Howard
(1935-6/1950)

3
The Illuminatus! Trilogy
by Robert Shea & Robert Anton Wilson
(1975)

2
Foucault’s Pendulum
by Umberto Eco
(1988)

1
Lammas Night
by Katherine Kurtz
(1983)

Leave a Reply

