My Review of Deadly Treats, edited by Anne Fraiser

In the quiet of my living room I sat in the wee hours of the morning, reading the uncorrected proof of Deadly Treats: Halloween Tales of Mystery, Magic, and Mayhem, compiled and edited by Theresa Weir’s nom de guerre Anne Fraiser, and cursing my luck. Anthologies are a tricky business. Short stories are, as they say, out of fashion. A shame too. There’s a real art to a finely crafted short story. They’re hard to pull off, but it’s a form I enjoy reading and writing. Poring over this collection of macabre (and often humorous) tales I couldn’t help but wish I could have taken part.

Deadly Treats was delightfully fun from cover to cover. Oh sure, as with any such anthology, there are stronger voices than others, but as a whole this gathering of Halloween tales offers a fantastic mix of edge of your seats chills and tongue firmly in cheek howlers.

Notable stories within include “The Replacement” by the editor herself, Stephen Blackmoore’s “World’s Greatest Dad”, “Slurp!” by J.K. Rigel, and, perhaps my favorite of the lot — David Housewright’s “Time of Death”.

All in all, Deadly Treats is an anthology that delivers and is a perfect companion for those long and lonely nights when the air turns chill and you bury yourself in a blanket on the couch, book in hand.

Deadly Treats: Halloween Tales of Mystery, Magic, and Mayhem is available August 15th wherever books are sold, though you can order it now from Amazon. I highly recommend that you do so.

2 Responses to “My Review of Deadly Treats, edited by Anne Fraiser”

  1. You don’t know how many times I’ve kicked myself for not asking you to contribute a story! I don’t know where my head was, because you were an obvious, obvious choice!! I’ve probably asked myself 20 times why I didn’t contact you! Argh. People keep asking me if I’m going to do this again. Right now, I would say no, but who knows? It was a lot of work, but it was also a lot of fun. And I’m so proud of the contributors and their stories. Thanks for the wonderful review!!

  2. cairnwood Says:

    You’re most welcome.

Leave a Reply

