All Hallow’s Read

Neil Gaiman was on a plane, his mind surely chewing over some deliciously dark and clever story idea, when a stray thought took root.  “You know, there aren’t enough traditions that involve giving books.” And from this simple kernel has sprung All Hallow’s Read (#AllHallowsRead on twitter). So here’s his line of thinking:  “I propose that, on Hallowe’en or during the week of Hallowe’en, we give each other scary books. Give children scary books they’ll like and can handle. Give adults scary books they’ll enjoy.” Sounds wonderful, doesn’t it? How could I not take part in something like this? It shall henceforth become a new tradition, one as necessary as carving pumpkins or digging up graves out at the old Hog’s Back boneyard.

So here’s how we’re going to do it here on The Occult Detective. You’re going to respond to this post and tell me what your favorite part of Hallowe’en is. Maybe it’s the candy, or the costumes, or the horror movies, or, maybe — just maybe — it’s because you know that the veil between the living and the dead is at its thinnest. Regardless, all you have to do is email your response to allhallowsread@occultdetective.com and you are entered to win a free book from yours truly.

What am I giving away? How about Fresh Blood, that gnarly little anthology from Burning Effigy Press featuring my story “Mourn Not the Sleepless Children”? Hell, I’ll even sign it for you. And to make the deal even sweeter, I’ll inscribe a bit of flash fiction inside and drop an arcane sigil on the page while sitting in a candlelit room inside one of the most haunted locations in all of Indiana. Who knows, maybe I’ll be sending you something more than just a free book?

I will select a winner at one minute before the stroke of midnight on All Hallow’s Eve.

3 Responses to “All Hallow’s Read”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lincoln Crisler, Bob Freeman. Bob Freeman said: How'd you like to win a free book from The Occult Detective? Click the link to find out how: http://t.co/PEoxiZy #AllHallowsRead […]

  2. Thank you so much for picking my response! Whether by chance or choice I am very grateful. I’ve never won anything before and I can’t wait to get my signed book! Thanks Bob! A wonderful belated Samhain present indeed. :D

Leave a Reply

