LOST in Translation: In My Time of Dying

On March 29th I posted a LOST in Translation entry titled “There Can Be Only One” in which I threw out my theory as to who the candidate would be and who I thought it should be.

“Who better than Jack Sheppard to be the culmination of that progress? From a Man of Science to Man of Faith, Jack is on the verge of becoming the balance between these two disciplines.”

I went on, however, to add:

“I have envisioned another scenario, one in which a different candidate assumes the mantle of Island God. That man? Hugo Reyes. Imagine if you will a distraught Hurley on the beach, saddened by the sacrifice of his friends, all having died in the struggle between Jacob and the Man in Black. Hurley’s unique gift would find him not alone on the Island however, and everyone who had died would be there with him, keeping him company. The beach would be filled with his lost friends… all ghosts speaking in whispers.

The Flash-Sideways is our doomed candidates reward for fighting the good fight. Hurley will hit the reset button, the Island will sink into oblivion, and all his lost friends will begin life anew in a mirror world where all that they’ve learned from their Island adventure will set them on a path of redemption.

I just have this feeling that the newly crowned Island God has set up this flash-sideways world, filled with cliched homages to various television genres, because that’s exactly what Hurley would do.”

Well, some of the particulars were off a bit, but the heart of it’s there. Of course, as I told my wife last night in the aftermath of the series finale, if you throw enough darts at the board eventually some of them are going to stick.

Six years…

I still haven’t processed the weight of it, you know. LOST has been such a huge part of my life, probably more than any other television program has been. For the majority of that time, I have been a part of the “greater LOST community”, actively dissecting and theorizing about this “pop culture phenomena”.

It’s been one helluva ride.

There will be those who are dissatisfied with “The End”. I am not one of them. I felt that the writers delivered a fitting endcap to the series, servicing the characters and delivering a loving finality to their creation that was as much a love-letter to the fans as it was to the wonderful cast that helped bring their vision to life.

Were there glaring omissions? A few. It would have been nice to catch a glimpse of Mr. Eko, Walt, Michael, and others at Jack’s “Moving On” Party, but that’s a minor quibble.

As to all those “unanswered questions”… You know what? I’m okay with what we got. A bit of mystery is not necessarily a bad thing. In the end we are left to allow our imaginations to soar and fill in the gaps for ourselves. As an author, I can appreciate that.

It’s hard to let go, as LOST so succinctly dramatized. But is LOST now truly over? As Christian Sheppard told his son, “There is no now here.” We’ll always have our DVDs to turn to, reexperiencing the wonder of it all, but differently, because I imagine that knowing what we do now, the entire series will be cast in a new light. I’m looking forward to revisiting the show in the near future, with the added weight of prescience as I reacquaint myself with these old friends.

“The End”, in all of it’s two and a half hours of glory was full of spectacular moments. As I prepare to leave you now, I want to address three.

Kate. Damn it Freckles, you were on fire last night. Finally, this character, largely vilified by LOST fandom, was redeemed. Not that I ever had a problem with Evangeline Lilly, but many did, and she really elevated her game in the finale. “I saved a bullet for you” was one of the best lines in television history and her delivery was glorious.

Juliet and Sawyer. Yes, dammit, I cried. They were my favorite couple on the show and Josh Holloway and Elizabeth Mitchell twisted my soul in knots with some stellar acting.

But the highlight for me, in an episode filled with them, was the return of John Locke. Gods, but I missed him. He was the character who I most identified with from the beginning, and to have him die as he did… well, it didn’t sit easily with me. Then they had to go and toy with me through his presumed resurrection. Having the Man in Black wear the mask of John Locke was brilliant in that every time FLocke was on screen it was a painful reminder of the man we’d lost. It felt so good to have him back last night, especially in his final scene with Ben Linus.

And there you have it, kids. LOST is done. Kaput. The fat lady’s finished her song and left the building. Thank you for joining me here at the Occult Detective and putting up with my inane ramblings and theories. It’s been an honor and a privilege to share this with you.

But we’re not done. I’m sure there will be plenty more to cover in the weeks and months to come, but for LOST itself, the music’s over. Turn out the lights…

to be continued

12 Responses to “LOST in Translation: In My Time of Dying”

  1. Thank you old friend for weekly explaining to me what I watched and failed to see.

    See you in another life brother.

  2. Adam Hutchinson Says:

    Bob, thanks for this blog. It’s been very interesting to read every week.

    • cairnwood Says:

      Thanks for reading, Adam.

      LOST was amazing and it gave to me more than I could have ever imagined.

  3. Al Kilyu Says:

    I agree I’ll miss this part of the blog. And discussions with folks about it, and me making theories that end up being completely wrong.

    Oh and still breaking news/spoilers…MIB really DID have a name! It was just announced.

    They were planning on calling him Samuel, but opted not to use it. I wish I’d have known that, I got tired of having to choose between fLocke or MIB

    Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go punch Solow until he ‘remembers’ then we have to go to church.

  4. I’m completely with you on this, although it took till this morning to come to that conclusion. After it was over, I had this horrible, unfulfilled feeling, the sense the unanswered questions remained too big and too looming. But after I slept on it, I woke up…literally in tears. The scene with Jack’s dad brought to mind my late dad so powerfully that I almost couldn’t take it. Having Vincent appear at the end the way he did…it was heart-wrenching. For the most part, I’ve only seen each episode of LOST once, when it was originally aired. A few I’ve seen more than a time or two. A lot of the older details remain hazy for me, and getting perceptions from other fans really brings things home, because we all remember different moments of it more clearly than others. I can’t wait for the day I have the whole series on DVD and can sit down and watch it at my own pace, uninterrupted by advertising and other distractions.

    • cairnwood Says:

      I didn’t just cry, I bawled until I thought I might not stop. Two days later and I still feel emotionally drained and can’t shake the feeling that I experienced something life changing and reaffirming.

      I’m truly looking forward to rewatching the series with a different set of eyes.

  5. I came late to your blog but I have found all of your musings on Lost to be fun reading.
    Though some small questions weren’t answered every major mystery was and that fact coupled with the emotional impact of the finale made for a perfect television experience for me.

    • cairnwood Says:

      It was a wondrous experience, a roller coaster ride that transcended the medium.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the blog. See ya at the JBF.

  6. Thanks for the blogs, I really enjoyed the read.

Leave a Reply

