LOST in Translation: Penultimate

LOST
Season 6 / Episode 16
“What They Died For”
written by Kitsis, Horowitz, & Sarnoff
directed by Paul Edwards

I have to keep reminding myself that this is not my story. It’s the bane of being a writer I suppose, but I have caught myself in these last few weeks being over-critical of LOST. The producers have been quite clear that they are “telling the story they want to tell”. My job, at this point, is to allow them to do so.

I was prepared to give a scathing review of last night’s penultimate episode. Not that I didn’t enjoy it, because I most certainly did. But ā€” and there’s always a but ā€” there were some things that just felt wrong to me. Maybe it’s because I’ve invested six years in the story. Maybe it’s because of preconceived expectations. The story seems smaller on many levels than it did a mere season ago. To be honest, it’s a practical mirror of Supernatural, boiling down to a feud between two brothers with the fate of the world hanging in the balance. Hell, Jacob was even there for both…

You know what? I’m going to let it go. I’m going to enjoy it for what it is, and what it is is the best show on television, maybe even of all time. Yes, it’s flawed, but then isn’t that the whole point of the series? Despite it’s flaws it can rise above them, find redemption, and <gulp> save the world?

So I’m not going to dissect “What They Died For”. Instead I’m going to hold off until Monday and view the endgame in its entirety, but before I go…

My favorite bit from last night?

Surprisingly enough it came from the flashsideways. Desmond’s epic jailbreak, springing Kate and Sayid with a little help from Anna Lucia and Hugo, had me grinning from ear to ear. Sure it was preposterous, but then I think it’s supposed to be.

A close second would be, and yes I know this is evil of me, seeing Zoe get iced like she did, and Widmore being sniped by Ben as well… that was especially satisfying and seeing Ben’s redemption song hit a sour note kind of fits in nicely with my finale endgame scenario…

My final theory?

We’ll discover that Jack’s Jacobing will have been merely to hold it until the true Island Protector shows up…

Flashsideways John Locke will cross over from the mirrorverse and throw down with FLocke. The Island will sink, killing everyone but Desmond who will reunite with Penny and Charlie and live happily everafter in an Islandless world.

In the elseworld, all our castaways will awaken, remembering their Island life and the sacrifices they made. Jack and Kate will be together, as will Sawyer and Juliet (who we’ll learn is Jack’s ex-wife and father to David).

The show will end in the sideways, with the Island rising up from the ocean and John Locke sitting on the beach. Ben will sit down next to him and say, “Do you know how badly I want to kill you?”

Sunday Night
The LOST Finale Event

It’s hard to believe it’s all almost over. Two and a half hours remain (minus the 50 minutes of commercial time that has been sold). Of course we have the two hour prequel recap show to look forward to and the Jimmy Kimmel: Aloha to LOST special immediately following the finale…

It’s been a marvelous ride and regardless of how it ends, it been quite an experience.

Leave a Reply

